Advisory Board

In 2011, an Advisory Board was established to advise on the strategic direction of the GII, to help emphasize the role played by innovation in economic and social development, and to assist with the dissemination of GII results. The Advisory Board is a select group of international policymakers, thought-leaders and corporate executives. Members are drawn from diverse geographical and institutional backgrounds and participate in a personal capacity. We extend our gratitude to all Advisory Board members for their continued support and collaboration.

As departing members of the Advisory Board, we thank Dongmin Chen, Yuko Harayama, Beethika Khan, Chuan Poh Lim, Mary O'Kane and Sibusiso Sibisi for their contribution to previous editions of the GII.

Advisory Board members

Clare Akamanzi

Chief Executive Officer, Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda

Robert D. Atkinson

President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF), United States of America (U.S.)

Audrey Azoulay

Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Amy L. Burke

Program Director, Science and Engineering Indicators Program, National Center for Science & Engineering Statistics, National Science Foundation (NSF), United States of America (U.S.)

Fabiola Gianotti

Director General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

John Kao

Chair, Institute for Large Scale Innovation and former Harvard Business School Professor, United States of America (U.S.)

Victor Zhixiang Liang

Senior Vice President, Baidu, China

Raghunath Anant Mashelkar

President, Global Research Alliance; National Research Professor, National Chemical Laboratory; former Director General, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) and former Chairperson, National Innovation Foundation, India

Philippe Kuhutama Mawoko

Professor, Université du Kwango, Democratic Republic of the Congo and former Executive Secretary, The African Observatory for Science, Technology and Innovation (AOSTI), African Union Commission

Michael Miebach

Chief Executive Officer, Mastercard Inc., United States of America (U.S.)

Sergio Mujica

Secretary-General, International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Monika Schnitzer

Member, German Council of Economic Experts and Professor, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich (LMU), Germany

Vera Songwe

Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Africa (ECA), United Nations

Heizo Takenaka

Professor Emeritus, Keio University, Japan; former Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy; former Minister of State for Financial Services and other Ministerial positions and World Economic Forum Foundation Board Member

Ming-Kian Teo

Chair, Vertex Venture Holdings Ltd, Singapore

Blanca Treviño

President, Softtek, Mexico

Pedro Wongtschowski

Chair, Board of Directors, Ultrapar Participações S.A. and Member of the Board of Directors, Embraer S.A. and Centro de Tecnologia Canavieira S.A., Brazil

Houlin Zhao

Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU)