Advisory Board

In 2011, an Advisory Board was established to advise on the strategic direction of the Global Innovation Index (GII), to help more broadly in emphasizing the important role innovation plays in economic and social development, and to assist in sharing the GII results as they relate to each of the world's economies and regions. The Advisory Board is a select group of international policymakers, thought-leaders and corporate executives. Members are drawn from diverse geographical and institutional backgrounds and participate in a personal capacity. We extend our gratitude to all Advisory Board members for their continued support and collaboration.

Advisory Board members

Clare Akamanzi

Chief Executive Officer, Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda

Robert D. Atkinson

President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF), United States of America

Audrey Azoulay

Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Amy L. Burke

Program Director, Science, Technology, and Innovation Analysis, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES), National Science Foundation (NSF), United States of America

Fabiola Gianotti

Director-General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

John Kao

Chair, Institute for Large Scale Innovation, and former Harvard Business School Professor, United States of America

Victor Zhixiang Liang

Senior Vice President, Baidu, China

Raghunath Anant Mashelkar

President, Global Research Alliance; National Research Professor, National Chemical Laboratory; former Director-General, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), and former Chair, National Innovation Foundation, India

Philippe Kuhutama Mawoko

Professor, Université du Kwango, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and former Executive Secretary, African Observatory for Science, Technology and Innovation (AOSTI), African Union Commission

Ken Moore

Chief Innovation Officer, Mastercard

Sergio Mujica

Secretary-General, International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Monika Schnitzer

Member, German Council of Economic Experts, and Professor, Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) Munich, Germany

Vera Songwe

Senior Visiting Fellow, Brookings Institution, United States of America, and Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) (up to August 2022)

Heizo Takenaka

Professor Emeritus, Keio University, Japan; former Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy, and Member of the World Economic Forum Board of Trustees

Ming-Kian Teo

Chair, Vertex Venture Holdings Ltd, Singapore

Blanca Treviño President, Softtek, Mexico

Pedro Wongtschowski

Chair, Board of Directors, Ultrapar Participações S.A., and Member of the Board of Directors, Embraer S.A. and Centro de Tecnologia Canavieira S.A., Brazil

Houlin Zhao

Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU)